first cooking class in rome!

Hi guys!

Sorry I haven’t written a post in awhile. I know you guys probably hate me. Haha, but you can follow me on Instagram @xdwanx for more frequent updates when I don’t have time to write a full post! 🙂

For those who already saw, I went to my first cooking class in Rome this past Tuesday with my roommate Irene. When we arrived, we were greeted by Chef Andrea and his wife Erica.  Chef Andrea talked a little about the traditions and methods of Italian cooking, like how Italians only cook with seasonal ingredients to ensure the food is fresh and best quality. After his little speech, he finally revealed what we were making. The three dishes of the night were:

1) Homemade Cavatelli shaped pasta with fresh tomato basil sauce

2) Chicken Cacciatora with Rosemary Roasted Potatoes

andddddd…..

wait for it.

3) Tiramisù!!! 🙂

Now off to the cooking!

So because all 20 of us couldn’t fit into the kitchen, we were split into two groups. One group stayed in the cooler dining area to make the pasta and tiramisu and the other group stayed in the kitchen to make the chicken cacciatora, rosemary potatoes, and the tomato basil sauce. It was a hard decision whether we wanted to stay in the dining room or go into the kitchen, but when Irene and I heard that we were going to make tiramisu (you guessed it), we decided to stay in the dining area.

Image

We started off making the tiramisu, because it needed time to be chilled. She told us that tiramisu meant “to pick me up,” hence having the coffee in it for a little sweet afternoon pick-me-up.  Another fun fact is the “original” tiramisu doesn’t have alcohol in it and only recently people began adding rum to the recipe! (Alcohol acts as a suppressant, thus counteracting the affects of the caffeine.) Guess people wanted another way to get tipsy after dinner. 😛 Haha but any how… Honestly, I couldn’t believe how easy it was to make. The process is super easy! Dip the lady fingers in coffee, sprinkle chocolate shavings, whip the eggs and mascarpone cheese together for the creme, layer it all in a pan, and refrigerate. BAM.

Then we made the pasta. Oh man this was tedious (but fun). Image

After we cut up the dough into little pillows, we had to make the cavatelli shape of the pasta. I don’t have time to describe it, but little sized pillow of dough

from this….

Image

to this!

Image

I don’t know what was going on in the kitchen, but 2 hours later, we were ready to be served!

Image

Homemade Cavatelli shaped pasta with fresh tomato basil sauce

Image

Chicken Cacciatora with Rosemary Roasted Potatoes

Image

Tiramisu

My favorite dish of the night definitely had to be the rosemary potatoes. The rosemary flavor was so fresh! The chicken was mixed with olive oil, then baked to perfection. Ahh it was like magic. My second favorite was the homemade pasta dish. Wow, just wow! The freshness of the pasta and homemade tomato sauce was unbelievable. After eating that, I can never go back to the 99 cent boxed pasta at the store*. Don’t get me wrong, I loved loved the tiramisu, but wow those other two dishes surpassed my expectations.

* (Fun fact: Fresh, homemade pasta only needs to be cooked for 30 seconds for it to be done vs. the 10 minutes for the boxed pasta…Mind blowing I know).

WP_20130910_031

Image

It was a great night of food, friends and conversation! I can say, I’ll definitely be back for round two!

Buona notte!
Olivia

Leave a Reply

